Recent Photos

When I refer to these as recent photos, I mean to say that I have recently posted them on Flickr. They actually are a month old, going back to Thanksgiving weekend early in October.

Orange and Blue

From the Visitors Centre in Algonquin Park. I don't imagine there would be any colour remaining there a month later. I took this from a deck/boardwalk at the rear of the building. There were lots of other snappers up there.

The rest of the pictures were taken on our trip home from the cottage, at least partly on the Opeongo Line. In pioneer days, there was a lot of logging in this area, but whatever population there was soon declined after the trees were logged out because the region is not good for farming.

Rusty Trucks

I had to stop when I saw these rusty old trucks sitting outside a sawmill near Combermere.

Rusty Trucks

The same trucks from the other direction.

The Rockingham Church

An old pioneer church at Rockingham that has been at least partly restored after falling into disrepair. It must have been quite a trudge up that hill in winter. Now called The Rockingham Church, it was originally called, "St. Leonard’s Anglican Church, the Rockingham Church was built in 1875, when the hamlet of Rockingham was a thriving community. Essentially abandoned 60 years ago, the church’s simple grace and imposing location high on a slope overlooking the village attracts many visitors each year."

The Rockingham Church

Inside, the original pews were returned after having been moved elsewhere. According to a video clip that I have seen, the organ to the left of the pulpit still works.

Rockingham Barn

There's not much in Rockingham, but I did find an open-ended barn with a tractor and a buggy inside.

I will likely post more pictures from the Opeongo Line in the weeks ahead.

This entry was posted in Near and Far and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Recent Photos

  1. Love these!
    I’ll bet it was SO quiet in that old church…wonderful feeling.
    hughugs

  2. Diana says:

    Wonderful photos AC. I especially loved the church!
    Love Di ♥

  3. Mary G says:

    The nose-on shot of the trucks is absolutely fabulous. I hope you are out with your camera today, as I guess this is Indian summer. At least until Wednesday.

  4. I just discovered you over at Hilary’s and glad she introduced your photography. Great stuff! I’ll be sure to be dropping in often. I love these old rusted trucks … great photo opps!

  5. Ginnie says:

    Wonderful shots, AC. You definitely have the artistic touch !

  6. Jinksy says:

    On this dark and rather chilly morning, I think I feel exactly like one of your rusted trucks! ♥

  7. Hey AC these are some great shots, especially those old trucks and that barn in the last shot. You certainly had a great “field” day for photography.

  8. beth says:

    oh those trucks….that church….wow !!!

  9. Kila says:

    These are gorgeous photos! I think #2 and #5 are my favorites.

  10. Ruth says:

    All the men I know with cameras love to take pictures of rusty old vehicles. Personally I favour the old church and the fall scenery. I really like the mood and light in the interior of the church.

Leave a Reply

