Of Times Past

I recently asked my boyhood buddy, Nelson, if he had any photos from back when, and it turns out that he did.

john-at-camp-wildwood-circa1960

Probably summer 1960: we went to Camp Wildwood on Lake of Two Mountains near Montreal. I have my Kodak Starflash camera dangling around my neck. Apparently, we were taking pictures of each other, but this camera of mine was not working well, so I don't have similar shots in my album. I would take a picture, but more often than not, the lens would remain open: not good.

nelson-at-camp-wildwood-circa1960

Also at Wildwood, Nelson is holding my camera, while I take him with his.

neil-john-peter-brain-circa1961

This was probably taken a year or two later, possibly 1961, since I (second left) seem to have grown a bit. We lived near a little airfield, and Brian (right) was a plane buff, so we spent time there every now and then. I have a similar picture with Nelson in the group instead of me. I lived just around the corner to the left of the buildings in the background. Left to right: Neil, Me, Peter, Brian.

mom-at-pontiac-taken-by-nelson-circa1963

This was probably taken by Nelson when he visited in 1963. This was out first car, a 1958 Pontiac. My mother learned to drive when we moved to a rural area outside of Toronto and a car was more or less necessary.

our-valiant-circa1966

I must have sent this to Nelson although I can't recall seeing a copy in our archives. This is our second car, a 1965 Valiant. It looks like I am dressed for church, but the surroundings are not familiar to me.

john-taken-by-nelson-circa1963

This may have been taken by Nelson in the summer or 1963.

This entry was posted in Heritage and History, Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of Times Past

  1. Hilary says:

    How fun it must be to acquire photos you’ve never seen before. Every now and then I see images of my own kids taken by others, which are new to me. Even though I have countless photos of my kids at all ages, to happen upon one previously unseen is like finding a treasure . Kind of like hearing an old song you somehow missed by an artist you’ve always loved.

  2. Ginnie says:

    I love the old photos…especially the cars ! Spiffy ! Also I think the pocket watches that you showed in your last blog are beautiful. I gave my son-in-law my grandfather’s pocket watch 2 Christmases ago and he’s still thanking me.

  3. Mary says:

    AC, so glad that Nelson was able to send you these photos. Memories are precious and I’m sure you enjoyed walking down Memory Lane as you looked at these.

    Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a happy, healthy and prosperous 2012.

    Blessings,
    Mary

  4. It is always fun to see old photographs and wander down memory lane! Fun seeing these!

  5. Cars had so much more personality in the old days! Our family had a 1958 Buick and the other day in Silver City Denny and I saw a 1958 Chevy driving through town. And there was a very old Dodge Matador parked in front of a vacant business–it had push buttons for the transmission instead of a gear lever, so I’m assuming it too was a late 50s model.

    Old photos are so much fun!

  6. Lorna says:

    Those were the days, my friend….

  7. Love old photos! Lordy Ac, Nikki looks like you!
    hughugs

  8. Bernie says:

    Hey we had a 65 Valiant as well, thought we were so cool driving up and down Main Street. I love these old photos and they look a lot like the ones in my old albums. We must be near the same age…..:-)Hugs

Leave a Reply

