Merry Christmas

I love Christmas, but you might not know it from my preparations or lack of same this year. Time was when I would not only print my own cards and but my own customized envelopes to go with them. I’ve had people — okay one person — once tell me that she actually saved the envelope.

Then I began to slip and started sending out commercial cards, which wasn’t too bad since I began writing Christmas letter around the same time. Last year, however, I didn’t manage to compose a letter; this year, sadly, I didn’t even manage to send out cards. After awhile, I succumbed and made an email card, and it worked out fairly well, since I was able to send it to all but one of the persons who sent me a card. However, email is not exactly the time-honored route to take.

But it’s not a lack of Christmas spirit: not really, for how can it be when my granddaughter practices her printing by listing items from the Sears Wishbook on this piece of paper and then that piece of paper? Or when my daughter asks us to help her decorate her fine Christmas tree? Or when my wife adds her special decorative touches all around the house?

So, here’s a card to those of you who drop by this lil ole blog from time to time. When you look at it, keep in mind that we are facing the dismal prospect of a Green Christmas, which, frankly my dear, sucks if you are Canadian, which I am. This is not the card that I sent to traditional recipients via email this year, but it is a card especially for my Internet friends, from such places as Finland, The Netherlands, Texas and Florida etc etc etc.

Edit: I think my wish has been granted, for I awoke to a nice layer of snow this morning (Friday), and the temperature forecast suggests that not only will it stay but that we will get more on Christmas Day.

Merry Christmas 2011

This entry was posted in Lightheartedness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. Hilary says:

    Awww that’s sweet. Thanks for that. I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas, AC. And may it snow in your neck of the woods.. but you can leave mine out of it. 😉

  2. QMM says:

    Oh you lucky dog. It is raining here. No sign of snow even for Christmas day. My excitement for Christmas goings ons comes and goes according to how I am feeling. This is the best I have felt in the last few Christmases and things are more decorated and organized. Enjoy your weekend and blessings on you and all your family.
    QMM

  3. Well, it’s a Beauty! Nicely done!
    Hope you and the family have the the Best Christmas Ever!!
    Merry Christmas Ac!
    ((HUG))

  4. judy says:

    It snowed here in Michigan tonight.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  5. Bernie says:

    Lovely card, well done. Merry Christmas AC and enjoy you wonerful white Christmas.
    ……:-)Hugs

  6. Sue says:

    A very merry Christmas to you and your family! The sun is shining here, though it was raining heavily earlier… I’ve grown to appreciate sunshine at Christmas since living in Cyprus 🙂

  7. And a very Merry Christmas to you and Cuppa, AC. I’ll take my snow on distant mountain tops while the sun shines warm in the desert valley, thank you very much!

  8. Mary says:

    Merry Christmas, AC! Much love to you, Cuppa and the fam.

    We have a teeny bit of snow here but I’m happy. It’s cold, the sun is shining and it’s not green outside. 🙂

  9. Dimple says:

    Thanks, AC!
    And thanks for coming by, and leaving a smart alec-y remark! No, it’s not my 300th Christmas card–I’m not quite that old yet–but it IS my 300th post!

    Blessings!

  10. Ruth says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family! I wish Ontario a snow storm on the 26th after my plane has left.

  11. Mary says:

    AC, Lovely card and thank you so much. Sending wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a happy, healthy New Year. May abundant blessings come your way.

  12. Ginnie says:

    Thanks for the card, AC. Christmas day here in North Carolina was like a lovely spring day in New England…mid 60’s and clear. Nary a flake of snow. Not exactly my idea of Dec. 25th !
    But I love reading about the differences from the blogger comments and I think it’s fun to have blogger friends from all over the world. I think the one that’s the farthest from me is Cazzie in Australia. They are always in shorts and swim suis while we shiver in the cold.
    Sending good wishes to you and yours.

  13. Frank says:

    Glad you got at least a dusting of the white stuff. Hope it stays a while. And trust you had a great Christmas.

Leave a Reply

