Winter Photos

December the twenty-ninth dawned very cold but also very clear, and with snow still clinging to boughs, I couldn’t resist heading out to take a few photos.

Carleton Place View

I spotted this lamppost decorated for the season by the townhall in Carleton Place, a town to the west of Ottawa. The townhall lies just off the right side of the photo, and we are looking across the Mississippi River (no, not that Mississippi River) toward the steeple of St James Anglican Church.

The Boulton Brown Mill

We are looking dowstream along the Mississippi River in Carleton Place at the Boulton Brown Mill, originally built in 1832, and apparently reworked in 1885 by Horace Brown. The mill was used until the 1960s when sections were destroyed by fire. It now houses luxury condominiums.

The Auld Kirk

Near Almonte, Ontario, The Auld Kirk was a Presbyterian Church (Church of Scotland) built in 1836 but, very surprisingly to me, has not been used much since 1864 after the railway came to nearby Almonte .

The Mississippi River at Almonte

The Mississippi River crosses the main street of Almonte (of Mississippi Mills, west of Ottawa) in a series of falls. I thought that I might get some interesting shots on a very cold winter day after a snowfall and I was not disappointed.

This entry was posted in Near and Far and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Winter Photos

  1. Regenia says:

    Breathtakinng!

  2. Diana says:

    Oh m y AC that last photo was stunning! I am so happy that you enjoyed getting all of those lovely shots on mine and my hubby’s 22nd anniversary! It’s been busy around here but I’m back. Great to see such beautiful scenery! Love Di ♥

  3. Ginger says:

    Wow, AC, these are all gorgeous! There’s not a much prettier sight than sunny blue skies with a good snowfall. 🙂

  4. My first thought was “oh, I like that one!”, then “oh, I like THAT one!”. Sigh. You have such a good eye. I love old churches for their architecture, bright blue skies and snow, and waterfalls. Bonus for all three in one post. 😉

  5. Lorna says:

    What am I doing in Ottawa when amazingly beautiful Carleton Place is so near?

  6. Hilary says:

    Very pretty winter photos, AC. We have very little snow around here so I’ll enjoy yours from a distance.. just the way I like it.

  7. Bernie says:

    I’m sure you were a professional photographer in a former life. Beautiful photos my friend……:-)Hugs

  8. SO Beautiful Ac! Love your photos…Happy weekend to you!
    hughugs

  9. Ginnie says:

    Outstanding photos, AC. Your last one of the falls actually made me chilly just looking at it…I’ve gotten thin skinned since moving from NY state to North Carolina !

  10. Mary says:

    They’re all really beautiful but the last shot is my favourite.

    Has the weather been as crazy where you are as it is here. One day it +6 the next it’s -15. Craziness. We lost all of our snow today.

  11. charlie's mom says:

    Happy New Year. It looks like you live in a northern Camelot. We have little to no snow but trees look grand no matter the weather. I look forward to more photos as the year progresses.

  12. Philip says:

    These are wonderful photos of lovely historic spots in your area. They would make lovely Christmas cards.

  13. June Kellum says:

    AC,

    These are absolutely beautiful winter pictures!

    What a wonderful world you live in!!

    Junie

  14. Jinksy says:

    I’m not sure you were on the same planet as me, when you took that last photo! 🙂

  15. Ruth says:

    Beautiful winter pictures. I have not minded the relatively snow-less winter, but it does make things look brighter. I particularly like the falls.

  16. Kila says:

    Oh my, I LOVE the third photo! And the fourth one!

Leave a Reply

