She Takes Up the Fiddle

When Cuppa and I awoke this morning, I mumbled something or other about us now being in the bleak days of midwinter. Even as the days begin ever so slowly to lengthen, winter increases its icy grip on our hearts.

No, I guess it isn’t as bad as all that, but we do seem to have less energy on these dreary morns.

However, a significant event was to transpire. Nikki Dee was scheduled for her first violin lesson!

We got her out of school early — at lunch time — and took her across the miles to meet her new teacher, who is my former teacher. Hopefully, Nikki Dee will be a more apt student. πŸ™‚Β  She does have both time and youth on her side after all.

Of course, a proud Buppa had his camera in the ready position to memorialize the milestone event.

First Violin Lesson

First we work on the At Rest position, including how we place our feet.

First Violin Lesson

The girl listens to instructions with enjoyment

First Violin Lesson

We attempt a wee bit of open string plucking. Bowing and fingering must await their turns patiently in the wings.

First Violin Lesson

We've done well and stand smugly over our accomplishment

How time flies. Five years ago, she was still a bump. Now, she is in regular school, dance class and violin lessons. What changes these early years bring!

This entry was posted in Grandchildren and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to She Takes Up the Fiddle

  1. Dora says:

    I remember when you and Cuppa were waiting for her to arrive. What blessings time can bring. So happy that the both of you are here to be an active part of their lives. Blessings πŸ™‚

  2. Ruth says:

    Very cute pictures! I hope music will always be a pleasure for her.

  3. judy says:

    She is SOOOO adorable!

  4. Mary says:

    These are adorable, Juncle. I know I always say that, but these are ESPECIALLY adorable. The violin looks good on her.

  5. QMM says:

    Oh she is precious.
    QMM

  6. AC time does have a way of passing quickly when grandkids are involved, we can hardly believe she nearing 6monthd.

  7. Whoops forget to add that our granddaughter is nearing 6 months old.

  8. Whoops, i was referring to our granddaughter who is nearing 6 months in mid-January.

  9. Hilary says:

    Oh these images are darling. But that third one.. it’s a winner. That must be framed and hung. The focus and concentration in her eyes… it’s beautiful.

  10. Ginger says:

    Love, LOVE this story and these pictures. Music is always a wonderful thing, especially when you’re making it. Yay for Nikki Dee!

  11. Bernie says:

    She is so cute and I bet she will be wonderful playing the violin, in fact I think she will be great at whatever she does, you have every right to be proud, so happy for you to have such joy…..:-)Hugs

  12. Diana says:

    It is amazing how much children learn within the first few years of life. I hope ND likes playing her new instrument. She sure looks natural with it!! Good photos AC!
    Love Di β™₯

  13. Lorna says:

    well, I should have had my coffee first, and read this fortified against tears. Grandparenthood does have its wonderful mysteries.

  14. sigh….I’m afraid this post made me tear-up!Lololo….I know, I’m too sentimental. She’s absolutely Beautiful Ac!
    hughugs

  15. Mary G says:

    I’m just starting to sort the granddaughter photos – precious memories. But she gets older and competent so fast, looking back. Treasure your moments, unretired Buppa!

  16. I hope ND continues to enjoy her music lessons with that same look of anticipation and wonder. What fun to be such a large part of her life!

  17. Philip says:

    What a delightful, beautiful child. I love the last picture with the regal look she is giving you.

    I trust she will learn to step dance at some point. This seems to go along with the fiddling in both the Celtic and French Canadian communities.

  18. Ginnie says:

    What fun. My son-in-law was practicing his violin as I read this and I called him in to enjoy it with me.

  19. KGmom says:

    My oh my–the princess is growing up.
    Love the attentiveness in her face.

  20. Mara says:

    She is so grown-up! I can’t believe it’s already been 5 years!

  21. Regenia says:

    Once again I called my husband to see the pictures. And once again he commented on what a very pretty little girl! And she is. I absolutley love her obvious enthusiasm for life and new experiences. I hope she never loses that. These pictures are wonderful and it’s fun to watch a little girl we don’t know grow up. We’re cheering her on!

  22. Kila says:

    Wow, awesome! I love it! πŸ™‚

  23. Pearl says:

    wow. cute. and what nice continuity with family.

Leave a Reply

