Monday Morning

It’s a pleasant Monday morning here in the Ottawa Valley although there is snow in the forecast tonight and tomorrow. However, that’s much better than more freezing rain; twice last week I was obliged to chip and shovel ice from my driveway. Snow is much more manageable than ice.

The trouble is that tomorrow is Tuesday, which is Nikki Dee’s scheduled violin lesson. Her first was three weeks ago, but her next two lessons were both cancelled due to weather — freezing rain both times. Here’s hoping that the roads are clear enough to drive safely tomorrow as it is almost a half hour drive to her teacher, and I feel obliged to make every effort to get there.

What with recent snow days, sick days and a PA Day coming up this week, we seem to have been even busier than usual with the grands lately. On top of that, their parents planned a dinner party on the weekend, so we had both of the kids for a sleepover on Saturday. That was the first double sleepover and the first ever for him although he has a lot of afternoon naps here, but it went pretty well, even though we haven’t had much a respite from them just lately, so we’re not getting our batteries fully recharged.

It will be Zach’s third birthday this coming weekend. He is growing up into a nice young boy who can amuse himself happily for fairly long periods. And as hard as it is to believe for those of you who remember the thousands of baby photos of Nikki Dee, she will be five in April. My goodness.

It’s odd that I continue to go through this phase of not blogging very often, especially after blogging so very frequently for many years. Perhaps I will be re-invigorated when the nice weather rolls around — which will occur about two days before next winter begins. 🙂  I am doing quite a bit of reading in my spare time. Last night, I downloaded Elizabeth George’s latest Lynley mystery to my Playbook. It’s quite a treat to be able to decide that I want to read a certain book and to be able to obtain it within minutes. I still get most of my reading from the library, but it’s nice to have the eReading option handy every now and then.

 

 

This entry was posted in Newsiness. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Morning

  1. Diana says:

    Funny, I was wondering what you’ve been up to since you haven’t been around much lately. Now I know, snow and ice, BRRRRR!!
    I understand about the lack of Blogging. Winter is pretty boring. Not much to blog about really.
    As four ND turning 5, time does fly. I can’t believe my granddaughter will be 10 this year, it just freaks me out!!!!!!!
    Love Di ♥

  2. When your toes are cold sitting still to blog doesn’t rank real high on the list of “to dos”!Hahaa….
    Lordy, we’ve had plenty of the sleep-overs…and they ALWAYS wanted french toast or biscuits for breakfast….boy, I miss it! I guess Gamma’s house isn’t the “happening” place anymore…Lolol…they think they’re suppose to grow up! No one asked MY permission!!Hahaaa….
    I Love my Kindle….
    hughugs

  3. QMM says:

    Same story here with missing the fun with the young grands. Even the youngest 12 is basketball all the time and Dad and Daughter dances and so on. Like my Kindle better than I thought. Still miss seeing a real book and feeling the pages. Reading The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom, about slavery among the Irish coming to the US. No big snow here, yet!!

  4. Dimple says:

    I haven’t been blessed with grandkids so far, and have also been reading less than I used to, but I seem to keep busy…

    Thanks for the visit, and don’t worry about blogging more…just enjoy your books until it’s time to do something else!

  5. Lorna says:

    that Lynley book is next on my e-list. I love the instantness of it too. Funny- two day break from winter, one for spring/summer and one for fall, which I know is your favourite.

  6. KGmom says:

    At least you’re getting some winter. Tomorrow’s forecast here–14 degrees C. That’s spring weather.
    Ah, the wee ones do grow up, don’t they. Here’s hoping you and Cuppa maintain your stamina to enjoy the wee ones to the maximum.

  7. Mary G says:

    They do grow so fast – or time goes so fast. Not sure if that is either or both.
    You’re a champion poster next to me. I am so uninspired that I am starting to doubt whether i have any brain left at all.

  8. Bernie says:

    Can’t believe how the time has flown by. I remember Jboy learning to walk and some of the funny antics that ND would do……wish we could slow the world down for a while but then that wouldn’t be fair to the kids would it. It has warmed up here today, we had freezing rain yesterday. Hope all the family are well AC…..:-)Hugs

  9. Ginnie says:

    You deserve a rest, AC … especially if you have to spend time chipping ice … something that would not be my favorite sport! As you know I have cut back to posting a blog entry about every 4th day and it’s a great relief. I don’t want to give it up because I love the interplay with “friends” worldwide but I needed a respite too.

  10. AC, Just finished an vElizabeth George novel, the old fashioned way – in hardcover form. I have always enjoyed the Inspector Lynley stores on PBS and wish there were more of them. COngrats to Zach on his upcoming birthday, mine is also this weekend on Friday!

  11. Kila says:

    I can’t believe he’ll be 3 already!

Leave a Reply

