It’s the Little Things

‘Cause it’s the little things that mean a lot
It’s what you are, not what you got

Methinks that Sonny and Cher had it right. Sometimes it’s the little things that make life more pleasant. Having an electronic garage door opener is one of them. It’s not that my life’s joy would be greatly reduced if I had to open it manually, even in winter when we actually use the garage to park the car, but it’s just nice to drive right in.

banana standI feel much the same way about the banana stand. I thought Cuppa was losing it the day she came home proudly bearing the banana stand like a cat with a mouse, but I would now miss the thing if it were gone. In fact, I have just decided to say hello to it every morning when I extract my breakfast banana.

 
 
 
 
 

toast grabberAnd don’t get me started about the toast grabber, which is the term I had to use to find images on Google — toast grabber. I recall giggling when Cuppa brought that particular metaphorical mouse home, but it sure beats using fingers or metal objects to extract the toast. I have grown so fond of the little device that when our previous one broke, I was quite saddened by the loss. But Cuppa was able to patch it and keep it in service until we were able to find another.

This entry was posted in Lightheartedness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s the Little Things

  1. Diana says:

    Well I don’t know, I sort of like Aerosmiths ” Living on the Edge” as my theme song. There’s nothing like using a fork to get my toast out of the toaster. I do it for the “Shock” value, LOL!
    Love Di ♥

  2. We’ve had both…the banana stand was always in the way and it was quicker to just use fingers on the toast…Hahaaaa…..My toaster “Pops” the toast up into the air and like Lucy, I’m good at catching it…Lolol
    hughugs

  3. I thought I had seen it all, but I should have known better in my young age: a banana stand. Whatever will they think of next?

  4. Ruth says:

    I forgot how much I liked the Sonny and Cher show…

  5. Mary G says:

    We keep our bananas in a special plastic bag to keep them from ripening too fast. But that is a beautifully crafted stand.

  6. Bernie says:

    Okay I use all of these except the toast remover, I love it. Gotta ask where did cuppa find such a thing? Your right the little things in life bring us much joy as well as make life a little bit easier.
    ……..:-)Hugs

  7. Ginnie says:

    Yup, I know how you feel. I have some silly things that give me pleasure … a nightly crossword puzzlde is a must and I feel bereft if I don’t have one !

  8. QMM says:

    Yep to all the above. Now I have seen the banana stands but resisted buying one just because I am trying to lead a more simple life, like not spending any money unless absolutely necessary. Well so what I have a little at the end of the month. So I just might get me a toast retriever. Happy Heart day to you and Cuppa on this gloomy, snow flurried day in Central Ky.
    QMM

  9. Not enough room in the RV for a banana stand but I really like the toast retriever since I tend to burn my fingers getting English Muffins out of the toaster.

  10. Beatrice says:

    That stand looks like the one we had for a few years and it too was always in the way on the counter. Maybe you got the one we donated to the thrift store, but then it would have had to travel a long way. Our little thing is the mini-tongs we use to squuze our tea bags.

  11. philip says:

    I think I disagree. . . .well I am leaning this way anyway. As one who believes is a more Spartan kind of life than most, I am more inclined to resist gadget when something simpler would do. As an example, i would remind you of all the gadget in the kitchen that replace the simple knife. Real cooks get by with only about three or four types of knives and with them they do all the slice and dicing, carving and cutting, peeling and unsealing etc etc. So many gadgets just create one more thing to wash. Needless to say I avoid dishwashers when a few minutes standing at the sink, enjoying the scenery outside and the satisfaction of getting things clean with your effort, accomplishes the same thing.
    I always carry a pocket knife with which I am always finding uses for. I think every young lad, or lass, should carry one. When I went into the parliament buildings they made me surrender my knife. I survived the separation anxiety!

  12. Pearl says:

    I’ve wondered about those banana stands.

  13. Linda Fraser says:

    I purchased the same banana stand at a garage sale for $2.00. I love it. Where would we be without our gadgets? My favorite (don’t tell the doctor) is my cheese grater. It always manages to put a little yummy in my life. Thanks for sharing this, AC.

  14. Mary says:

    They think of everything. I had seen the banana stands but have never seen a toast grabber until today. Guess I’m shopping in the wrong stores.

    Thanks for the comment on the boys grades. I will be sure to let them know.

    Blessings,
    Mary

  15. Hilary says:

    I had no idea there was any such thing as a toast grabber. Just think of all those fingers I could have saved..

  16. Kila says:

    It’s the little things. 😉 My friends have a “toast grabber” and when I first moved here I had no idea what it was, LOL. I don’t think I’ve actually used it yet. No wonder my life feels incomplete! 😉

  17. Ginnie says:

    Ok, AC … enough with the banana stand already … I miss your entries or am I just not tuned in to your new location?????

    • AC says:

      My goodness. Your cache must be stuck. Click here, and then you can click the back button at the bottom of the post. There are probably a half dozen entries since the banana.

      When you’ve caught up there, I have just returned to blogger. I have revived my old Raindrops blog with a new template and a new name. It’s all explained there. Just click the link.

      John

Leave a Reply

