An Appeal

Blogger has done it again — done something silly and unnecessary.

There was nothing wrong with how Word Verification worked for years. It was relatively painless. Commenters were given one clear word to type, and I’m sure that was enough to stop all but the most determined spammers.

But now?!

captcha

What’s up with that? Why a double captcha, one word of which is almost illegible? It doesn’t make sense.

Please have mercy on your visitors and turn the thing off. At least give it a try. Blogger has pretty good spam filters, and if one spam comment makes it through, it’s easy enough to delete. Just make sure you are logged in; then go to the comment and click the trash can. I’ll bet you won’t have to do it very often.

Having said all of that, I can’t even see where to turn off Word Verification on the newest version of Dashboard, so I can’t tell you how to do it. Perhaps it’s still there on the older versions where it used to be quite straightforward. Bah!

Edit: Go here to find detailed instructions on how to dismiss the ridiculous word verification.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to An Appeal

  1. iphotoeye says:

    Sometimes I have to do double back verification..what is that you ask? It’s when I cannot read the verification word and have to just keep trying until I get one right..☺

  2. THANK YOU Ac for passing the WORD along about this STUPID new addition to Blogger! Why the hell people think they need this kind of security is beyond me! Blogger has great spam filters! And, people that won’t turn it off??? They don’t want me to visit!
    Oh…PS- Dork!Hahahaaa….You RINSE the fruit, dry it then store it in the fridge….
    ((hugs))

  3. Hilary says:

    Hopefully very few folks will be struggling with WV before too long.

  4. Gone there, followed instructions to the letter and now it should be fine. Thank you so much!

  5. Diana says:

    Go to Designs then comments then settings. Mine says that it is off. I would appreciate it if you could let me know for sure. It is a royal pain and I am amazed that I am able to figure out the letters. I hope this works for you A.C. please let me know. Love Di ♥

  6. Bernie says:

    The new word verification are horrible, I cannot read them properly and it takes me a few tries before I get the words correct, I just can’t figure out one of the words that are all run together. Oh well I am sure they are getting (or at least I hope they are) lots of complaints and will change the verification to something easier……:-)Hugs

  7. Ruth says:

    Thanks for the info…mine is turned off now.

  8. Sue says:

    I’ve turned it off, after your recent comment on my blog (I did not realise it had become more painful recently). Instead, I turned on comment moderation for everything – previously I only moderated comments on posts more than two weeks old.

    Since doing this yesterday, I’ve had about 15 spam messages to moderate, sent to me via email. Painless enough to deal with, and hopefully now less annoying than the double Captcha for genuine commenters… but I hope it won’t increase.

  9. Beatrice says:

    So glad we turned off this annoying feature which we were unaware of having been “on” since as blog authors it never displayed when we commented on our own blog. We’ve had some spam comments since turning it off, but then I am great with the delete option.

  10. Ruth says:

    Blogger’s comment spam filter is poor compared to WordPress! Since I took off word verification, spam has come through several times a day, none of it identified by Blogger. I am glad they simplified the capchas because I have put it back on.

    • AC says:

      I am pretty happy with WordPress. Aside from the normal spam filter, I like how you can set it up to approve someone’s first comment. Once you identify them as legit, you no longer have to approve. Not much can get by you this way. I really like it.

      John

Leave a Reply

