I Think Maybe They Listened

Lately, Blogspot bloggers, including moi have been in a tizzy over the new double word verification. I posted about it yesterday, and many others have as well.

But, Google may have listened.

To wit: here is the graphic that I posted yesterday. Look how in each case one of the two words seems to have been deliberately mangled to make it difficult to decipher.

captcha

Now look at what the captchas have looked like since the masses spoke. Although still not the easiest, I see quite a difference. I don’t think I have squinted or made an entry error since.

captcha2

This I can live with — especially since this two-word verification system seems to be aiding the planet. The gist of the following TED Talk video is that companies such as Google are using this systems to assist in the digitizing of books, especially older ones. I won’t try to explain it, but I will post the video below. Yes, it will take you 17 minutes to view, but it’s fascinating and time well spent in my, your most humble servant’s, opinion.

Knowing what I now do about the double captcha and seeing that Blogger has made it much easier on my eyes, I can live with it.

So … as you were. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Newsiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Think Maybe They Listened

  1. Mary G says:

    Damn well said.

  2. I’ll have to watch the film this evening but it IS better…I just got onto Blogger so I’ll go check out the people that still have not changed!
    hughugs

  3. KGMom says:

    Frankly, I still have problems. Reading, that is.

  4. Ruth says:

    Wow, that video is very interesting. I had no idea! Maybe it is not too late for me to learn another language.

  5. Sue says:

    How very cool! Sounds like it’s a service to humanity to put the double-captcha back on my blogs now… πŸ˜‰

  6. Hilary says:

    I saw the video the same day I posted my rant. I’m all for aiding the planet, of course but I probably comment on several hundred blog posts each month. I’d much rather volunteer my time for translating willingly, rather than offer up my unsolicited help a few hours a week by struggling through WV many times a day. I’m still not impressed.

Leave a Reply

