Henry’s Garage

I have already posted bird photos from our lunch at Wheelers Pancake House and Sugar Camp last week. Wheelers is quite an impressive family operation. Aside from the restaurant and boiler in the main building, there is a Maple Syrup museum, a blacksmith shop, various implements distributed here and there, a display of farm antiques, a new chainsaw museum, and Henry’s Garage. It is the garage that we turn our attention to today.

Here it is with a vintage car inside (I didn’t think to check the make) and an old fashioned gas pump outside.

Henry's Garage at Wheelers

A closer shot seems appropriate.

A Closer Look

As we move closer still, my eyes were drawn more to the license plates and shelf than the car. Whenever I return, I must make amends and focus more on the car itself.

Henry's Garage

Here is the same photo converted to black and white.

Henry's Garage

We now draw the lens back again to focus on the White Rose sign and pump. White Rose was a Canadian gas and oil company back in the day. In the sixties, my mother actually used a White Rose service station for both her gas and repairs although. Did sixties pumps, especially early sixties, look like this? I can’t recall. Perhaps these are more of a fifties look.

Henry's Garage

White Rose disappeared as a service station entity sometime in the sixties after being bought out by Shell. Therefore, it seems appropriate to add a black and white version of the photo.

Henry's Garage

This entry was posted in Near and Far and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Henry’s Garage

  1. iphotoeye says:

    The lighting and shadows in those first few pictures are spectacular..love these..

  2. Bernie says:

    Are you getting to be an even better photographer than you were? These are great pictures, love them. Now I am going to go and make some pancakes……:-)Hugs

  3. Diana says:

    I am so impressed with your photos and the technique that you use A.C. They are publishing worthy. By looking at the place, I think my husband and I would enjoy it there as well. My husbands cousin owned an antique shop down here and he specialized in old gas pumps and other gasoline related antiques. He’s passed now but it was so interesting to see all of those bits of history.
    Love Di ♥

  4. Mary G says:

    Love the B&W garage shot. I think the pump is even earlier – maybe even the ’30’s. Vernon Wheeler is a passionate collector of old stuff and good at putting it together. Did you see the antique display at Rural Expo ’03? That was his stuff, almost all of it.

  5. KGMom says:

    I agree with Mary that the pump style looks earlier than the 60s. But I am no expert.
    My preference on photos is the muted colors. While B & W has its advantages, I like the subtle shades of pastels.

  6. Love these! Is that old car a Model-A? Cool! My Dad owned one.
    hughugs

  7. Hilary says:

    Fun photo treatments. They work well with these vintage pieces.

  8. Growing up with parents who collected antique/classic cars and who went to antique auctions (what seemed like) every weekend, I love your “old” posts. What software do you use to do your HDR effects? Posts like these make me smile. And now I’m hungry for pancakes with pure maple syrup. Fortunately I have some from our trek to the northeast last summer.

  9. Pearl says:

    like the processing for this. I should do some of a wall of licence plates I know.

  10. Kila says:

    Love the photos. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  11. Regenia says:

    I agree with everyone else that the photographs are great! I find the name “White Rose” so interesting for a gas and oil compnay. Wonder what the story is behind that.

  12. Philip says:

    The only white rose station I remember was on on the Lakeshore road in Toronto opposite the foot of Bathurst Street, near where the old baseball stadium was when Toronto last had a minor league team.

    Concerning your concern over your comment on my blog. I hold not grudges 🙂

    I posted a picture of Lynne granddaughter on my last posting if you want to view it.

  13. Beatrice says:

    Wonderfully nostalgic, AC. Why is it that things from the past always look better once they are no longer in use?

Leave a Reply

